Track Listing:

  1. The Times They Are A’Changing

  2. Where We Both Belong

  3. Blowin’ in the Wind

  4. Blue Moon

  5. San Francisco Bay Blues

  6. You’ll Never Walk Alone

  7. I Shall Be Released


Gary Weiner is debuting his first full length album, RELEASED AT LAST, on May 27, 2019. It will be his 70th birthday. A powerful vocalist, Gary reinterprets classic songs, giving them immediacy and new vitality while exploring deeper and richer parts of his range.

Gary describes the album as a “coming of (old) age story.” The journey begins with fire and fury in an anthemic, gospel-inspired rendition of Dylan’s The Times They Are A Changin’. From there, the story progresses through a vibraphone focused nod to Modern Jazz Quartet (Where We Both Belong), a brassy ode to New Orleans Second Line (San Francisco Bay Blues), and a crooner performance reminiscent of Bobby Darin and Frank Sinatra (Blue Moon). The album finds a beautiful and bittersweet culmination in some of the heaviest and heartfelt interpretations of You’ll Never Walk Alone and I Shall be Released that you will ever hear.

Released at Last was co-produced by three-time Grammy nominated Warren Dennis Kahn at Banquet Studios. It features prominent musicians such as guitarist Nina Gerber, bassist Kai Eckhardt (bassist from John McLaughlin, Vital Information), and pianist Frank Martin (Narada Michael Walden, Chris Isaak, Whitney Houston, Herbie Hancock). As well as up-and-coming Bay Area jazz musicians Chaco Amazé Peckham, Ricky Lomelli, Jesse Shantor, Libby Cuffie, and Ab Menon. Gary also enlisted the help of two of his professional musician family members: Ben Weiner on drums and vocals and Julie Lester on vocals.

Genre: Jazz, Folk, Rock, Americana

For Fans Of: Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Chet Baker, Johnny Hartman

Listen to tracks from Released At last